Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)

 by Peg Cochran

Be sure to scroll down to read my REVIEW.  I loved the first book, and I know I’ll love this one too!  Check out the free GIVEAWAY too.

 

Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)
by Peg Cochran

Peg Cochran shows once again that she’s a master at the cozy historical mystery! . . . I enjoyed visiting the NYC of decades ago and piecing together a mystery without the aid of modern forensics and instant research capabilities.
~The Cozy Pages

MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED is an engaging mystery that captures the essence of the year 1939, from the optimism of tomorrow to the concerns in Europe, from sticking with tradition to striking out on one’s own.
~Cozy Up With Kathy

The mystery is fast-paced, intelligently written, and just plain fun.
~The Book’s the Thing

Murder, She Encountered is an engrossing cozy mystery with a mystifying mystery, exciting exhibits, soaring temperatures, a poorly reporter, meddlesome models, and a probing photographer.
~The Avid Reader

This is a great cozy mystery that will have {you} hooked and you will be taken back in time with all the wonderful sights of that time period.
~eBook Addicts

Exciting as well as dangerous. The descriptions and references with intricate details make all the difference.
~Laura’s Interests

The mystery is well written and even-paced with plenty of suspects, even the kind you love to hate, and lots of clues and secrets to be revealed. The characters are as technicolor as the setting.
~I Read What You Write

About the Book


Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Alibi (December 3, 2019)
Print Length ~230 Pages
Digital ASIN: B07PKJGHGK

A gutsy Manhattan socialite encounters murder and corruption at the World’s Fair in this captivating historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Rhys Bowen.

New York City, 1939. A rising star at the Daily Trumpet, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams has been sent to the World’s Fair—billed as the “World of Tomorrow,” a look toward a brighter future even as the drumbeats of war grow louder—to cover a robbery. What she stumbles upon instead is a dead woman, dumped into the Aquacade’s pool with a nylon stocking wrapped around her neck.

Elizabeth snaps a photo as the police arrest Joey Dorman, a gentle young hot dog vendor who made no secret of his obsession with the murder victim. Even though she’s thrilled that her photo makes the front page, the fear and confusion evident on Joey’s face are haunting. So Elizabeth vows to prove his innocence—or his guilt—with her partner at the Daily Trumpet, Ralph Kaminsky. Meanwhile, her romance with Detective Sal Marino is heating up, and Elizabeth is more determined than ever to follow her heart.

But when Kaminsky’s efforts to expose the real killer land him in the hospital, Elizabeth is forced to continue the investigation on her own. And as she tries to narrow down the long list of suspects, she discovers a dark secret running through the Fair—a secret some would kill to protect.

Look for all of Peg Cochran’s delightful mysteries featuring Elizabeth Adams, which can be read together or separately:
MURDER, SHE REPORTED
MURDER, SHE UNCOVERED
MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED

About the Author

Mystery writing lets Peg indulge her curiosity under the guise of “work” (aka research). As a kid, she read the entire set of children’s encyclopedias her parents gave her and has been known to read the dictionary. She put pen to paper at age seven when she wrote plays and forced her cousins to perform them at Christmas dinner. She switched to mysteries when she discovered the perfect hiding place for a body down the street from her house.

When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, cooking, spoiling her granddaughter and checking her books’ stats on Amazon.

A former Jersey girl, Peg now resides in Michigan with her husband and Westhighland white terrier, Reg. She is the author of the Sweet Nothings Lingerie series (written as Meg London), the Gourmet De-Lite series, the Lucille series, the Cranberry Cove series,   and the Farmer’s Daughter series.

Author Links:

Website – http://www.pegcochran.com/

Newsletter Sign Up –  http://www.pegcochran.com/newsletter-signup.html

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pegcochran

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@pegcochran

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5352603.Peg_Cochran

BookBub – https://www.bookbub.com/authors/peg-cochran

Purchase Links:

AmazonB&NKobo

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

December 2 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

December 3 – The Book Diva’s Reads – SPOTLIGHT

December 4 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

December 5 – The Cozy Pages – REVIEW

December 6 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

December 6 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

December 6 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

December 7 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews

December 8 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

December 9 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

December 9 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

December 10 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

December 11 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

December 11 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

December 12 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

December 14 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – SPOTLIGHT

December 14 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

December 15 – OFF

December 16 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW  

December 17 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

December 17 – Book Club Librarian – SPOTLIGHT

December 18 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

December 19 – Here’s How It Happened – REVIEW

December 19 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

December 20 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW

My REVIEW/5 Stars

MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED, Peg Cochran’s third Murder, She Reported mystery, takes Elizabeth Adams and Ralph Kaminsky, a photographer and reporter duo for the Daily Trumpet newspaper to the 1939 World’s Fair in New York to cover the breaking story of a murdered young woman.

The police quickly arrested a suspect, but by digging for details to get a scoop-worthy story, Elizabeth and Kaminsky discover a fistful of shady characters, each with a motive to kill the woman.

Before they can untangle all the clues at the Fair, the editor sends them to cover a murder in town. The humid heat, physical stress, and many cigarettes Kaminsky smokes finally take a toll and he ends-up in the hospital. Now it’s up to Elizabeth to be both reporter and photographer for yet a second murder at the World’s Fair.

The closer she gets to discovering the answers, the more danger shes in.  And when Elizabeth is attacked… no doctor can keep Kaminsky in the hospital. The duo rush back to the Fair for a showdown.

MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED is a fascinating read, from the “whodunnit” mystery, climbing suspense, and final nail-biting climax, to the amazingly detailed glimpse of 1939 New York with its Fair, fashion, transportation modes, and society rituals. There’s even a touch of sweet romance.

GIVEAWAY

For a chance to win one of two DIGITAL copies, click:   http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792981/?widget_template=56d5f80dbc544fb30fda66f0

 

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

3 thoughts on “Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)

Leave a Reply to The Cozy Pages Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.